Like Tree16Likes

Lesbian Scene - Hong Kong

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4 9 ... LastLast

Lesbian Scene - Hong Kong

Hi all out there,

I am new to Hong Kong and haven't had much luck tracking down a les scene as a lot of places seem to be closed/moved.

Does anyone have any tips?

Sarcasm - because beating the crap out of people is illegal

I have some pointers; however, last time I posted them they were deleted, hence I am leery...

Temptation 21 is a lesbian bar and a place to start: 21/F., The Lamma Tower, 12-12A Hau Fook Street, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong

It sounds as if it's the only one town! Thanks for that, will check it out.

Strange for such a cosmo city to have so few les bars...

Quote Originally Posted by aisling:
    It sounds as if it's the only one town! Thanks for that, will check it out.

Strange for such a cosmo city to have so few les bars...
    There are certainly more, but there have been numerous reports recently that Police keeps bullying openly gay-friendly venues, so I imagine they keep a low profile. I thought I remembered there was a LGBT in HK on meetup but can't find it right now - oddly enough, the first google result is our hiking meetup....?
    Anyways, if you ask around at the club Claire mentioned, you'll certainly get enough pointers.
    Last edited by er2; 24-05-2011 at 03:06 PM.

Sarcasm - because beating the crap out of people is illegal

aisling, although Hong Kong may be a cosmopolitan city, it is back by a very conservative attitude and it is still very difficult for people to be openly homosexual in Hong Kong (when I arrived it was actually illegal). Example: the British government didn't even both to ask the Hong Kong government whether the consulate could conduct same-sex civil unions - in Japan it knew it could and did. And, as er2 mentions, the police are not particularly friendly to gay venues, unless there is a "special" relationship going on.