Lan Kwai Fong: Heaven or Hell?

Closed Thread

Lan Kwai Fong: Heaven or Hell?

What do you think about Lan Kwai Fong? Do you love it for it's lively, fun atmosphere, great food and mix of like-minded people? Or do you avoid it and prefer Wan Chai/Lamma/Soho/Sai Kung/somewhere else?

I'm an art student at the Hong Kong Art School and have an assignment to "create a portrait of Lan Kwai Fong" - so I'd love to hear your views.

I may use your actual words in my art work, or I may simply use them as part of my research/inspiration. At any rate, please tell me why you love or hate the place (or are simply indifferent to it) - personal experiences/memories are useful, as are more general thoughts about how LKF functions within Hong Kong as a whole.

One point: if LKF isn't your favourite place, please keep to the forum rules in your reply (e.g. no slagging off individual bars etc by name).

Thanks!

Gizmo

i find i can only handle lkf only once a month... it's the same scene, same people, same bars/clubs... truly not representative of the diverse city we live in. lkf can be described as a 'safe haven' for out of towners / non-locals / expats where they can feel somewhat 'at home...' - lkf is a touristy hub for out of towners...

Hang around LKF, and make friends with Alan Zeman. He will show you the insider view, and introduce you to some colorful people. Good Luck.

Quote Originally Posted by Gizmo:
    One point: if LKF isn't your favourite place, please keep to the forum rules in your reply (e.g. no slagging off individual bars etc by name).
    Er, I think you're confusing Geoexpat with another expat site which has this rule (and which is therefore useless as a place to go for recommendations).

Here on Geo it is perfectly OK to make coherent but negative reports of personal experience in specific establishments. The site owner's philosophy seems to be that in these cases he contacts the establishment and offers them the opportunity to respond online.