Hip Hop Scene

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Hip Hop Scene

G'day y'all...

Wondering if there is any local "hip-hop" scene/culture in HK..
    I am from SYD where the local scene there is thriving and growing very fast. I am not just talking about clubbing and listening 2all the chart music either. Miss talking with the local heads back home and would like to try catching some gigs, maybe even find out some places where i might find some like-minded people. I'm actually an amateur DJ myself and am dying to play some vinyl ASAP, maybe even join/listen 2a local cypher if there are any about..
    Whatever ur preference in the music is, i really dont mind, as long as ur not going to get all "soulja boy" on me.. My taste varies from mainstream stuff such as Luda, T.I, Lupe, The Roots.. but prefer listening to the hard to get stuff such as most OZ hip-hop (lol)- Hilltop Hoods, Pegz, Spit Sydicate, Tom Thum and DJ Sampology..also into the "underground scene"- Murs, J Dilla, Black Milk, Dilated P's, Q-Unique even artists such as Jedi Mind Tricks...
    Very interested in meeting any local artists as well, especially if you can help pointing me towards a local gig that might be on soon.
    Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated...

Cheers and a merry Xmas to y'all

The scene here pretty much sucks. You have good taste in music, but the vast majority of people here have never heard of Black Milk or JMT. TI would be considered underground here. lol

Last edited by jayinhongkong; 24-12-2008 at 08:10 AM.

For Real..??...
    Noooooooooooooooo

What about KRS, Talib and Mos Def...??

Is there any chance of there being a "local gig" over the holiday period??

I have a mate who's a major Mos Def fan, but you're never going to hear his stuff outside someone's home. Local gig over the holidays...I doubt it. I get e-mails about that kind of thing and I haven't heard anything about one recently. BTW, the local shows are in Cantonese!