Gold Coast Residential Appartments / Job Search

Closed Thread

Yellowknife NT Canada- Moving to Hong Kong

Smile Gold Coast Residential Appartments / Job Search

Hi everyone,
    I am moving to Hong Kong in June 2008 and was wondering if you have an opinion about living in the Gold Coast Serviced Appartments. What are the pro's and con's to living there?

My background is in Interior Decorating and Early Childhood Education. I enjoy both fields of work. Do you think I will have difficulties finding a job in the area or close to it? Your feedback would be great. Thanks for your help.

Theresa

As an interior decorator you wont be impressed by the GC Apartments. Do you have to live there? To start with a serviced apartment in central will give you a better introduction to HK.

There are 2 levels of GC Serviced, one is older and with a separate kitchen and living area and they are quite tired. The newer ones are more open plan. The bedrooms in both are tiny - ok for a single or v. small and short family.

Thanks for your input. I will be living in the slightly newer appartment with the open cencept. My fiance just moved in and sent pictures. I'm planning to paint and accessorize. It should be ok for the 2 of us but I'm going to find it difficult to entertain people in limited space. Do you live there now or did you at one point? I'm just curious to know what it's like. I will be commuting to Central regularly to learn more about the Interior Decorating industry in HK. Is there a designer district that you are aware of? I'm looking forward to exploring. My fiance will be away alot and I'd like to find work to keep me busy.

Last edited by TANDA747; 14-01-2008 at 01:29 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by T&A Embury:
    I'd like to find work to keep me busy.
    Ummm you can't legally work in HK though as you will require a work permit and a company needs to sponsor you for that.

...or you could get married and then you can get a dependents Visa.