Why do my wife and I keep getting turned down for credit cards?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Why do my wife and I keep getting turned down for credit cards?

We're two expats here for 3 years now, both making decent money - she's an english teacher, I'm an engineer.

We've applied maybe 5 times between us for a credit card through HSBC, I think she's done Hang Seng as well. We keep getting rejection letters back that are completely useless, they don't say why we've been rejected, just that we have. Maybe if the bank expanded instead of this stupid polite cover, I could rectify any missing info or information they require. She even got turned down for an "automatically pre-approved" one I think!!

What's going on, why don't they want to take my money? We both have credit cards from our home country, so it's not an emergency, but just annoying, but if the banks don't want my business then so be it.

Don't bother with HSBC or Hang Seng.

If you've been rejected recently, DO NOT apply by filling up forms to every bank in town. You get negative valuations for every application (banks don't like people who've applied for 20 cards).

I'd recommend you go to Standard Chartered bank, visit a credit officer and explain your situation to them. The face to face approach works so much better and SCB operates very efficiently via email (they'll email you for clarifications).

Make sure you have 3 months bank statements, valid employment contracts / letter from your company stating that you're employed and being paid regularly by auto-pay. Make sure your statements have the same amount being deposited monthly that your company says you pay. Also, take your rental agreements with you to show where you live and how much you pay.

Tell SCB that you'll switch your auto-pay accounts to them if they need you to, to get approved.

More than often the problem with HSBC and Hang Seng bank (or any other bank) is the lack of information when you apply via mail.