Like Tree1Likes

Web Design Business in Hong Kong -- Feasible?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Web Design Business in Hong Kong -- Feasible?

Hello,

I'm an American who currently lives in Taipei. Each time I've visited Hong Kong, I just feel "wow, this is my kind of place!" I'm a web designer and developer, working solo on most projects for clients in the US.

Working solo all the time gets pretty frustrating, and I'd love to hire 2 others part-time, and have a small office for us in Hong Kong. I've looked at some office rentals online, and it seems that decent spaces around Central can be had for around $10k HKD.

Does anyone know what the web design community is like in Hong Kong, or how feasible it is to find Hong Kong clients? Also, what are fair hourly rates for designers and programmers with 2-3 years of experience? I want to feel "local," if that makes any sense...doing work for NYC clients all the time means lots of phone calls at odd hours.

Anything else I'm forgetting that would be helpful is also appreciated -- setup costs, taxes, visa issues, etc. Thanks!

What sort of visa do you have to stay in Taiwan now?

60-day extendable visitor visa.

There are many web designers, the quality varies but some are very good and are as cheap as chips.

There is a meetup in a few weeks (I think the 28th of July) of many in the digital industry.

Web Wednesday - Hong Kong

There is also a huge startup meeting the first week of August.

STARTUP SATURDAY HONG KONG 2010

How feasible? You're going to have visa issues. You'll need a work visa to do what you are doing, even if the clients are in the USA. Coming over on visitor visas and 'topping up' by going over to Macau or the mainland won't work in the long run.