Like Tree15Likes

Job Offer / Relocation Package

Closed Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thank you to everyone who replied, your feedback is greatly appreciated! To answer a few questions:

1. Not planning on kindergarten right away, but some time in the next 8-10 months we may think of putting him in some type of school where he can get immersed in Cantonese.

2. I am not a Yank (Bolivian) but I am a US permanent resident, and will be returning to the US with the same company in 18-24 months.

3. I will definitely look for something on the Eastern side, but am also considering Discovery Bay. We lived in New York previously so I know about commutes! Is there affordable rentals that are nice in DB?

4. Our family is conscious on eating organic foods, would this change where we would want to live? We know it's expensive.

Quote Originally Posted by closedcasket:
    Your first 100,000k USD is not taxed by the US...HK only. I would still say that is a big benefit, even as an American.
    But not as much as the benefit to a non-American, hence the salary difference. I get a certain amount per month extra just for that reason (so long as I am subject to pay US taxes). Just something to be aware of...

If you think eating organic is expensive in the USA, it is like eating gold here. Yes, you can do it, but it is beyond expensive (to my thinking)....

Quote Originally Posted by Lootoo:
    But not as much as the benefit to a non-American, hence the salary difference. I get a certain amount per month extra just for that reason (so long as I am subject to pay US taxes). Just something to be aware of...
    Why on earth would a company do that? Surely it makes far more sense simply to employ a non-American at a cheaper rate?

4. Our family is conscious on eating organic foods, would this change where we would want to live? We know it's expensive.