Like Tree32Likes

HSBC has rejected my business bank account application

Closed Thread
Page 12 of 13 FirstFirst ... 4 9 10 11 12 13 LastLast

Nambla,

I am happy to hear that you've managed to get a business account with DBS and CCB.

Do you mind if you answer me one question? (everyone else is invited to provide feedback, it would be highly appreciated).

I am a freelancer. I'm in the process of opening a company in HK. I will reside in Taiwan most likely, pushing for the ARC and long term residency here. My passport is from an EU country.

This is my first startup and I am confused as hell.

I am taking most if not payments through PayPal. However, PayPal withdraws to my personal bank account and I don't want to use that. So I will need a business bank account.

1. What should I do to maximize my chances? (I don't even intend on applying to HSBC, seems like a waste of time).

2. How long does it usually take? I need to make preparations for HK in advance.

3. Will PayPal transactions from before act as proof of prior business? I can also get orders before the business account but it would be a major pain to do so.

Any insight you may add is welcomed. This is a small operation for now. Since I've moved to Asia, it made sense to open the HK company. Since money is tight and every expense matters, I'm looking forward to every tip you or anyone else may provide so I can get a business bank account, as fast and as cost effective as possible.

Thank you

Quote Originally Posted by Klau11:
    I am a freelancer. I'm in the process of opening a company in HK. I will reside in Taiwan most likely, pushing for the ARC and long term residency here. My passport is from an EU country.
    Why not setup in Taiwan if you intend to live there legally?

1) Because I don't have an ARC yet, I said that I will push towards an ARC and residency. Now I'm on a visa exempt.

2) The decision to open the company was opened before my decision to settle here.