Like Tree3Likes

HK Police Check for China

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

HK Police Check for China

I am a teacher in Hong Kong moving to China in August. In order for my school to apply for a visa, I must have a Certificate of No Criminal Convictions. My problem is that I need a letter from a consulate, immigration authority or government authority in order to do this. China will NOT write the letter, and my UK Embassy will only supply the letter if it is for the purpose of applying in the UK.

My US friends have gotten their letter from their US Embassy, but being a UK citizen I'm at a dead end. I have my school in China being as helpful as possible but if I don't find a solution soon I may not be able to move.

Any UK citizens have any suggestions?

Quote Originally Posted by ellieflesher:
    my UK Embassy will only supply the letter if it is for the purpose of applying in the UK.
    Can't you just have them issue it for something in the UK (name any large school), but then use it for the school in China?

I am a teacher in Hong Kong moving to China in August. In order for my school to apply for a visa, I must have a Certificate of No Criminal Convictions. My problem is that I need a letter from a consulate, immigration authority or government authority in order to do this. China will NOT write the letter, and my UK Embassy will only supply the letter if it is for the purpose of applying in the UK.

My US friends have gotten their letter from their US Embassy, but being a UK citizen I'm at a dead end. I have my school in China being as helpful as possible but if I don't find a solution soon I may not be able to move.

Any UK citizens have any suggestions?
    have you tried the hong kong police?