Like Tree46Likes

Is 37K good enough for salary in HK?

Closed Thread
Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Plus, the OP has told me their prospective employer via PM. It's a very large blue-chip MNC which should provide for some decent networking and career growth opportunities.

Mat and Fiona in HKG like this.

Thanks everyone for all your answers, such a nice community! It's very helpful. Looking forward to moving to HK by August. See y'all soon. I'll be posting follow-up questions in this thread if I'll have any =) Thanks again!

jmbf likes this.

And don't forget to budget for tax and provisional tax...

Indeed mate, we have a 2 bedroom in discovery bay for 15k. Theres lots of places around. I saw some one bedroom ones for 12.5k

Quote Originally Posted by yoshioka09:
    I have 7 years of experience in the IT field. Is it enough for rent, electric, water, wifi, grocery, lunch/dinners?

Once the offer is finalized, I'll be moving/relocating to HK early August.
    There are ppl I know living off 29k a month.
    Set aside 15% for taxes to be safe. That would be 27750 a month.
    Now for HK - a third of your salary for rent would be 9250, still possible. Yes you can live in a shoebox but most are shoebox apartments anyways.

Attached is one recommended by some unis reputable with occasional complaints but it's a pigeon hole - http://www.yesinspace.com

others around 9 k mark or less ( I don't know their reputation) : http://www.idealsuite.com.hk/studio.php
    https://www.m3community.com/eng/
    http://studiostudiohk.squarespace.com (Causeway Bay) - leaking at times according to a friend
    http://www.apartmentwe.com.hk/edb/index.asp (Causeway bay)
    https://www.homeyhomey.com