Like Tree13Likes

Fake iPhones

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Fake iPhones

Hey Everyone!

I'm considering buying a used iPhone 6/6s (Plus or Regular) from Carousell. I haven't owned any iPhones before and I don't know how to check 'em. I'm also afraid that they may be stolen. Does anyone know how to check the integrity of an iPhone? Whether it's still usable? If bought using a data plan, how do I check whether there's still an outstanding balance to it? Also, how do I check whether it was stolen or not?

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

You live on Apliu Street, why would you buy from Carousell when you are in 2nd hand phone heaven at your doorstep downstairs?

Fenix2 likes this.

Sorry, I'm just a university student here who just moved in. Thanks for letting me know. But, how exactly do I check them?

I would err on the side of caution when buying used phones here. Many people have fixed their phones with non-OEM parts at local repair shops. Whilst this isn’t a big problem, the price needs to be reduced accordingly. Just make sure the battery is been replaced, touch screen still functions and you should be good to go. The iPhone 6 Plus is not my favorite iPhone models ever. Great phone

Quote Originally Posted by despinosa3:
    Sorry, I'm just a university student here who just moved in. Thanks for letting me know. But, how exactly do I check them?
    Get them to make a call on the phone you are interested in to the phone you have now, then you'll see if its unlocked and working.

You can then transfer the number you already have to a new sim on the new phone.

Quote Originally Posted by despinosa3:
    Don't buy second hand then

If you are buying an iphone, try to get it registered with your icloud account. If its stolen and reported/blacklisted, it cant be registered to apple servers/icloud.

Phones in HK are not sim locked. So check wether the phone you are buying was sold/made for HK.