Like Tree15Likes

Expat package for mid level actuary

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Expat package for mid level actuary

HI,

I am currently based in the UK and I have been offered an actuarial role that pays 60-70k pm. (Incl housing allowances) I have around 8 years of experience in the field.
    Having spoken to agencies and finding out about the going rates for a similar position, the pay is about the standard pay for any candidates.
    Given that I am coming from the UK, i feel a bit underpaid to not be given much allowances for housing. For this level role, how likely is that the company will pay for an additional house allowances, etc if I ask for them? How much would be an acceptable amount for this level role?

Last edited by Cwaddle; 31-08-2018 at 07:51 AM.

Are you single?
    Speak Chinese?
    Who cares for the visa?
    How much are you getting now?
    What living conditions are you looking for?
    Do you know Hong Kong?

@Cwaddle

HK's newly released talent list might give you some negotiation wiggle room.

https://geoexpat.com/forum/54/thread349729.html

imparanoic likes this.

single, do not speak chinese, ,need a visa for myself, was getting a bit less in total comp in the uk at current fx rate. I just wanted to check how common it is to not get much at all in terms of housing allowances and just receive standard local rate when moving from the uk to hk for a mid level finance/actuarial position. My friend thinks its not good since you arent getting the ‘expat’ allowances/premium

I think your friend is right - with 8-10 years experience, and I assume this is a transfer, there should be a premium associated with bringing you to HK.

Soft issues - Single / Chinese / Visa - all do not really matter when you're in a professional field (with appropriate qualifications and experience) - stick to the hard skills that you bring.

If this is a new hire (not a company transfer) - I suspect you're being low balled.