Like Tree7Likes
  • 2 Post By Rob2020
  • 1 Post By BrightSum
  • 3 Post By dynamco
  • 1 Post By BrightSum

I've found a sub-HKD100 red wine that I think is excellent. Any other bargains?

Closed Thread

I've found a sub-HKD100 red wine that I think is excellent. Any other bargains?

I've spent a not-inconsiderable amount of money as I've searched for wine deals in Hong Kong. I have Champagne tastes, but a Champale (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Champale) budget.

This is a really pleasant pour:

Piazza del Castello Rosso Toscana | Winerack Hong Kong - Wine, Beer, Cider & Spirits

Easy drinking. Lots of red berry notes (I'm not very good at wine writing: Should I say cassis, pencil shavings, forest floor? I never know what that stuff means). The wine could have fooled me into thinking it was anything up to, say, 3-4x as expensive. I decant and let it sit for three hours as it comes up to room temp from my wine fridge.

Lots of good, reasonably priced wines at WineRack if you enjoy off-the-beaten path bottles. They have a decent, simple Graves that goes HKD160, I think, and will blow the stuff at your local supermarket away. They offer an Australian called "Miamup" that comes in a screwtop, which I like, and is superb at, IIRC, HKD140.

More, I believe--couldn't swear to it, but believe--that I found Wine Rack through an ad on this forum.

Also a great value, though lots more expensive, is Berry Brothers & Rudd's 'Own Label' Pauillac, which is around HKD240. I don't see how I can link to it on the HK site, but https://www.bbr.com/products-42930-2...ch-lynch-bages

This is quite a serious wine that would fool 9/10 experts into thinking it was the offering of a major estate (dare I say Latour? Don't hate me for it). This is to say nothing of BBR's Extraordinary Claret, which is a value around the HKD160 mark.