Like Tree14Likes
  • 1 Post By big_panda
  • 6 Post By shri
  • 6 Post By jgl
  • 1 Post By chuckster007

Uncommunicative Landlord, Lack of repairs

Closed Thread

Uncommunicative Landlord, Lack of repairs

Here’s the deal. We’ve been with the same landlord for 6 years in two different flats. Nice people.

The last east six months repairs have be lengthy in coming as they want to DIY and not pay someone. This I can understand, but the last two weeks we have had no power to the washroom as the circuit kept blowing. After an initial assessment by an electrician we were told to wait two weeks until they returned from China - and use a candle to shower if we needed light.

The electrical issue may be water leaking from the flat above which I’m going to guess will lead to messy repairs.

Ive been asking for a couple of months what the rent increase will be when the contract finishes. No answer. Yesterday after the bombshell about leaking water came “do you want to continue the contract?” How much is the rent? Radio silence.

1. Am am I best to jump ship and find somewhere else or is the devil I know the better option?

2. Can I file any sort of grievance with a government agency for two weeks sans power?

Thanks for reading and your input.

Quote Originally Posted by KowloonRun:
    1. Am am I best to jump ship and find somewhere else or is the devil I know the better option?

2. Can I file any sort of grievance with a government agency for two weeks sans power?

1. Have a look around, you might find something else you like. Plus having water leaks is a big headache if they spread to other parts of the house. 2 weeks without power seems unreasonable. Tell them to send someone to fix it, or you will arrange repair yourself and seek reimbursement.

2. No, but you can make a complaint about the leaking water of the flat upstairs to the Joint Office of the Food & Hygience Dept/Building Dept.
    shri likes this.

Thanks for your suggestions. I’ll started looking at flats.