Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Miaofromcali
  • 1 Post By CharSiuNow

Ideas for Employment after TEFL job gone.

Closed Thread

Ideas for Employment after TEFL job gone.

Hi, I came to Hong Kong on the advice of the tefl agency i had joined that schools would be reopening in April but now it looks more like Sept.

That's left me in a position where I have no way to support myself financially until that time. I've signed up to some tutoring apps but not having much luck. I was wondering if anyone had any employment ideas? Can you get retail work only speaking English?

My background is actually due diligence/brand protection but I couldn't find work without speaking Canto/Mandarin.

Thanks for any ideas!

Are you on an employment visa or do you have RTL/ RoA?

If the former, sorry, no dice; you can't ork for another employer without going through the whole visa rigmarole again.

If the latter, then just get whatever job you can find to get by for now; most industries are laying off staff in droves at present.

I saw a kid from my apartment building doing deliveries for food panda on his bike. No idea how he got hired and I am sure he doesn't speak any Chinese. It's not a bad part-time gig since everyone is just staying at home and ordering take aways.

shri likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by Miaofromcali:
    I saw a kid from my apartment building doing deliveries for food panda on his bike. No idea how he got hired and I am sure he doesn't speak any Chinese. It's not a bad part-time gig since everyone is just staying at home and ordering take aways.
    Most of the delivery people I see, appear to be from the subcontinent, and most have limited Chinese skills. I have to say though, given that it's mostly them, I assume it will be bloody hard work for very little pay. It'll be the equivalent of a paper route, except people don't complain if your paper is cold.
    chingleutsch likes this.

Some tuition centres have started to rehire.