Like Tree71Likes

Helper Shortage in HK

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Helper Shortage in HK

we have noticed that almost all helpers in HK are ending contract with current employer and finding new one. they are negotiating with multiple employers at one go and almost going for auction scenario. They are asking anywhere between 6k to 7k salary.

is immigration looking at this scenario or they are not aware about this?
    if they start processing new helper visa inside a week, this could easily have good impact on RED HOT helper market at the moment.

People are getting paid almost 5 USD per hour? Appalling. Beat then back down to 3 bucks fast before this society implodes.

Quote Originally Posted by Peaky:
    People are getting paid almost 5 USD per hour? Appalling. Beat then back down to 3 bucks fast before this society implodes.
    sorry I didn't understand the meaning fully due to my basic English skills. English is my 4th language, and I am still learning it.

if it was a sarcasm, just for reference, Average salary for domestic helper in Singapore is SGD597 (i.e. HKD 3326) and Dubai is AED 1830 (i.e. HKD 3910). I think HK is in same bracket as these two places rather than other places.

Knowing the general economics (which is my subject) - the salary is in this range for a reason. if it goes up, less people will be able to afford, and many helpers may go job less.

hope this is fine.

Mate, if you can afford to buy a Tesla, in a city with fantastic public transport, you can afford to pay a helper more than USD20 a day.

Quote Originally Posted by Jontol:
    Knowing the general economics (which is my subject) - the salary is in this range for a reason. if it goes up, less people will be able to afford, and many helpers may go job less.
    Didn't get this at all.