Like Tree44Likes

Local / Western restaurant recommendations for touristy types

Closed Thread
Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Not sure if this has been mentioned ... a fair few people who have left HK / returned or just live here, in our group of friends like to treat themselves at Din Tai Fung ... just slightly elevated Dim Sum .. not bad at all.

https://www.dintaifung.com.hk/menue.php?foodType=1

Quote Originally Posted by SonicYouth1:
    I was thinking Wooloomooloo may not be the best, maybe more a personal choice but I don't think eating out at those pure steakhouses would be worth it for the money. There's only so many ways you can cook a western steak imo

Junon has a long history in HK, over 50 years and I heard it's a regular for some of those TV celebrities. I don't think dimsum is a bad choice as well for a daytime meal though I'm not an expert on which places are good.

The dimsum places I went to recently are good for the food but environment a little cramped. More for taking friends than family
    They do have other dishes, not just steak, the recommendation was equally for the ambience and view

Quote Originally Posted by RobRoy:
    My parents are highly skeptical of new food, it took them multiple visits to HK before they even tried real Chinese food.
    Ahhahaha this takes me back.

Many many years ago I was travelling on business in the mainland and a member of the team I was with was a fragile northern lady who was not having much fun with Chinese cuisine.

On one of the last days of the trip, the local organizer said that due to some business successfully conducted, our hosts would like to treat us to a big hotpot meal that night.

The lady in question's eyes lit up, she said "oh wow we will be eating Lancashire hotpot today?!"
    Maz1989 likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by shri: