Australian Graphic Designer looking for a job..

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Australian Graphic Designer looking for a job..

Hello,

My names is Ryan, I am a 25 year old male and have just moved here from Melbourne, Australia. I am currently looking for work as a Graphic Designer. I need to be sponsored to work in Hong Kong as I came to Hong Kong with my girlfriend after she was transferred with her employer.

If anyone knows of any work or could give me some tips it would be greatly appreciated.

I have 4 years experience in the Graphic Design industry and am highly skilled in design programs.

Thanks you

Do you have any education in that field?
    It's not easy getting a work visa these days, and in graphic design it's even harder unless you know how to read,write Chinese.

Do you have any portfolio online that i can pass around maybe someone might be interested.

And as a tip and general rule, don't use software skills as your selling point.
    Anyone can learn software.
    If you say you have a great eye for colors, or composition, grid systems etc. then you have a better chance.

/Johan

Ditto what Johan said. There are alot of graphic designers in HK, some excellent, most terrible. If you have a portfolio, also feel free to msg me with the link so i can pass it to some ppl.

Alternatively, open up on elance and be a freelancer while you look for work.

Quote Originally Posted by jamesii:
    Alternatively, open up on elance and be a freelancer while you look for work.
    That would be illegal though.

Quote Originally Posted by jimbo:
    That would be illegal though.
    Jimbo lol. No its not illegal.

The method of payment of eLance means you can receive payments to a Paypal account as an individual (similar to receiving money for an item you sell on eBay). As an Aussie, get the money deposited into your pay pal account back in Aust.